Lucy Tuesday, take one: The Rancher

4 Sep

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well hi, hello there.  It’s been a while.  I sure do have a lot of catching up to do, starting with the arrival of our Teddy Bear.  But for now, I’m simply here to introduce my new weekly post: “Lucy Tuesday.”

It’s funny how with one kid, there were days when I counted the hours until Justin got home.  I loved the incredible amount of time I had with Lucy when she was little, but let’s face it – a parent can only sing “itsy bitsy spider” so many times before completely losing it.

But now, with two kids, I find it that much harder to make one on one time with my daughter and part of me wishes those countless hours back.

And so I’ve committed to making every Tuesday morning (a day when she doesn’t have school) a special mommy/daughter day.  It won’t always be something super unique, but it will always include two elements: Lucy and me.  Sometimes, we’ll include baby brother or friends or Dad or Gloria but the focus will always be on quality time with my girl.  Some days will rain and we’ll stomp in puddles or bake cookies, other days, we will venture into town and hit the park or Gato Negro for a mini muffin.  Most importantly, it will be time for my girl and me to explore the yet undiscovered nooks and crannies of our quaint little fishing village turned tourist hotspot.

Today, we went out to visit our wonderful friend, Blue, at Rancho Chilamate, a horse farm and riding company.  I’ve mentioned their amazing rides before, but this time, we went as friends, not clients, and instead of riding (Lucy is too little still), we pet the horses, jumped in hay bails, looked for (and found) eggs under the hens, walked Blue’s dogs to the nearby river, and chatted up her parrots.  While she enjoyed the horses, Lucy absolutely loved tromping down the muddy path to the river and was even more ecstatic when I encouraged her to jump in fully clothed.  She was so wiped out by the time we left that she fell asleep within minutes of hitting the bumpy road home.  I couldn’t have asked for a better day and Lucy’s only disappointment was that none of the horses were purple🙂

4 Responses to “Lucy Tuesday, take one: The Rancher”

  1. Sandra Smith September 4, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    Glad you’re back, Sarah. I’ve missed your postings. Hope to see your beautiful family in person one day soon. Sandy

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Mom September 4, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

    Can Lucy get any cuter!!! Mom

  3. Paul Fahey September 5, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

    Sarah,

    Sounds like it’s going to be “Tuesdays with Lucy”

    Hope Maury does not mind!

    Love Mama

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lucy Tuesday, take three | Mom's the Word - September 19, 2013

    […] Lucy’s great time out at Rancho Chilamate, I decided another farm experience needed to be in our future.  Plus, I […]

Leave a Reply

