Giving new meaning to babymoon

6 Mar

Eight months into this pregnancy and the heat, my back, and my feet are killing me.  So I finally decided to indulge in a prenatal massage yesterday.  Not quite sure why I waited so long, but you can bet that I’ll be signing up for more of these in the coming weeks. 

Dina, the masseuse, arrived at our house with massage table in hand and quickly set about creating a relaxing environment in one of our guest rooms – complete with dim lighting, a/c, comfy pillows and music.  She found all the tight spots and worked them out like a pro, being mindful of my belly and propping me up on my side.

At the end of the massage, she asked if she could massage my belly, to which I agreed (and also appreciated the ask).  As she swept her hands across my abdomen, she quietly said “3 weeks.”

“Three weeks what?” I inquired?  “Until the baby comes, she said.” 

“How do you know?” I pressed.

“Well, we believe that children are born with the moon,” she began and then paused to gauge my reaction. 

I gave a subtle nod of the head and encouraged her to continue.

“The full moon brings on labor, she explained.  Boys tend to be born within 5 days of a full moon.  Girls are usually born within eight days.” 

“There is a full moon on March 27,” she continued.  “You’ll probably have this baby by the end of the month.”

“But the end of the month is Semana Santa [a holiday here celebrated with debauchery, booze, and all out craziness].  My doctor won’t even be working then,” I protested.  “My due date isn’t until April 20th,” I continued.

“Don’t worry,” she assured me.  “He [the baby] will come quickly.”  “You can call me if your doctor is drunk from partying.  I’ll help.”

With that, she packed up her table, hopped in the cab, and reminded me to call her if I wanted another massage next week. 

After she left, curiosity got the better of me and I began Googling childbirth and the moon and came across this gem:

“The theory is that the moon’s gravitational pull effects the amniotic fluid in much the same way as it effects the water in the sea, rivers and even the water that’s otherwise found in our bodies….As a woman’s body prepares for natural childbirth, the amniotic sac becomes distended so the point where it will easily burst if put under pressure. Under normal circumstances, the pressure of labor contractions bursts the sac. During a full moon, the pressure caused by the moon’s effect on the water inside the sac can cause the same things to happen, but without the accompanying contractions.”

 and this…

“It’s called the lunar effect, and, as far as births are concerned, the primary explanation for the effect focuses on the moon’s gravitational pull. It basically states that much the way the moon’s gravity controls the tides, it can control a woman’s body. The human body is 80 percent water, after all.”

It does make sense when you consider that menstruation and ovulation follow an approximated 28-day lunar cycle.

I then looked up Lucinda’s birthday to discover that she was born on the eve of a full moon. 

Mamas out there – what’s been your experience?  Were your children born under the light of a full moon?

Image

Lucy and Justin looking for the moon

 

2 Responses to “Giving new meaning to babymoon”

  1. Karen March 6, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    So funny – I don’t even remember what stage the moon was when Owen was born, but a friend sent us a card with a picture of a full moon taken on the day he was born. Granted, I was about 39.5 weeks preggers at that point and while I was well on my way, was induced b/c of high blood pressure. Regardless, the boy was born within 5 days of a full moon🙂 Good luck this coming month!!

  2. Peggy Cressy March 7, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

    As a nurse and labor coach, I can tell you that many more babies are born during the full moon. The labor deck was always busy during thatt time. Now that so many births are scheduled – with inductions and section this happens less often. If you let nature take its couse Your baby will come in 3 weeks. I would say pack your bags and be ready, Lucy is about to have a new brother.
    Enjoy!!
    Doula Peggy

Leave a Reply

