My shoulder

27 Jun

My shoulder is moving in a few weeks. She’s not going far – just to the other side of the bay, no more than 10 minutes by car. But when your shoulder has been 100 feet away for the last two years, 10 minutes seems far. I have cried and laughed on that shoulder.

My shoulder was there when Cooper passed away and we barely knew each other. She was there when I brought Lucy home from the hospital and we were still getting to know each other. She was there when we were broke, thinking about leaving and knew each other well enough to be sad about it.

I was there when she went into labor with her second baby. I was there when they came home an expanded family. I was there when they made wonderful business expansions and life decisions.

We’ve shared chisme and chocolate and New Year’s Eves…parenting advice, beers, and trashy magazines. She brings me warm bread, hot chocolate, and humor [among so many other things]. I bring her leftovers, toilet paper, and insight [or so I think].

Our girls have grown 19 months together – more sisters than friends. Kind of like us.

By the time we return from our trip, my shoulder will have moved. Her little house on the hill will be empty. The neighborhood will feel a little less neighborly.

I know she will still be there, but I will feel a little crooked without my shoulder nearby.

read to be read at yeahwrite.me

4 Responses to “My shoulder”

  1. dberonilla June 27, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    How amazing it is to have found someone like that, and be lucky enough to have them 100 feet away!
    No wonder ten minutes seems far!

    Your post was beautiful, and I am sure that you will find a way to make it work.🙂

  2. Sisterhood of Moms (@SensibleMoms) June 27, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    Aww. I just went on vacation with my shoulder. We moved away 10 years ago and still try to see each other twice a year. Erin

  3. Jackie (@notwifezilla) June 28, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    It is amazing when you find those friends, those shoulders and ears that mean so much. I do hope you’re able to keep in touch!

  4. Robbie June 30, 2012 at 6:10 am #

    What a beautiful tribute to a great friend. My shoulder moved a year ago and the block was never the same.

Leave a Reply

