Lost and found

25 Jun

Lost and Found Box

I didn’t tell the landlords when the money went missing.  Even though it disappeared on a day when the only person with access to our house was the cleaning lady.  I didn’t say anything because I couldn’t be certain that I hadn’t misplaced the money.  I didn’t say anything because I didn’t have proof of theft.  I didn’t say anything because I didn’t want to be the reason that someone lost her job. I didn’t say anything because I felt stupid for having left the money in a place where it could be taken. I didn’t say anything because we haven’t had a problem in over 4 years.  I didn’t say anything because I felt guilty for having $100 that someone else thought she needed.  I didn’t say anything because I am considered a “have” in a country of “have nots.”  I didn’t say anything because even though losing $100 totally sucks, it’s not my end and it could be someone else’s beginning.

The following week, my earrings went missing – while I was in the room with no one but the cleaning lady.  This time, I said something.  And it wasn’t about the earrings.  It was about the fact that someone else felt entitled to my things. I said something because I decided that if I didn’t, I’d be perpetuating the problem.  I said something because I felt violated.  I said something because I was angry that someone assumed I possessed so much that I wouldn’t notice if I was without.  I said something because I was conflicted about feeling that I needed to apologize for having.  I said something because I was disappointed that she didn’t feel she could ask for help.

I said something and three days later, she returned my earrings.  And now I feel vindicated in my suspicions and saddened by their truth.

4 Responses to “Lost and found”

  1. Carl Crosley June 26, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    When you have a cleaning lady, where ever you are living, you are a HAVE in land of HAVE NOTS.

  2. Jennifer Beck Furber June 26, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    Sometimes it is so hard to know you’re right. I hope your home becomes safe, untouched again.

  3. YLMBreadless (@YLMBreadless) June 26, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    its crappy for anyone to think that just having a little more is as reason to take. I am so sorry.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Cleaning Lady Conundrum | From the C-Sweet - September 2, 2012

    […] Lost and found (momsthewordblog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

