The loudest hour at the quietest time

8 May

Join me on staceysmotheringmoments.com

11:50 p.m. – I wake to the subtle shift of the fan powering down and the air conditioner going to sleep.

11:51 p.m. – Apparently, the shift is less subtle to Lucy who responds to the sudden heat and complete darkness with a wail and a whimper. Plug-in baby monitor not needed to hear her symphony of cries.

11:53 p.m. – I force my eyes open, adjusting to the blackness that is a power outage, throw my legs over the side of the bed, fish around for my flip flops and plod into Lucy’s room.

11:54 p.m.. Sweat waterfalls down my spine, creating a wading pool of perspiration at my coccyx as I lift Lucy from her crib.

11:55 p.m. “allá [there],” she begs, pointing to our bedroom door. Her eyes plead with me to allow her to slumber in mom and dad’s bed.

11:56 p.m. I move toward the door, but instead of relief, Lucy expresses concern, pointing back to her crib. We’ve forgotten her friends, George, Buddy Bear, Lambie, and Tiger. Balancing her on my left hip, I reach in to grab her furry friends with my right arm and she quickly pulls them in close.

11:57 p.m. We make our way back to my room and I nuzzle her into a sweet spot right between her dad and me. I lie down next to her, on my back, and immediately she rolls her tiny little frame onto my stomach, gives me an embrace, lets out a sigh, and falls fast asleep.

11:58 p.m. I am still awake

11:59 p.m. I am still awake

12:02 a.m. I am still awake

12:07 a.m. I am still awake. The room is getting hotter and I can’t sleep without the whir of the fan or the drone of air conditioner.

12:09 a.m. Knowing that I am tempting fate, I wrestle my arm free from her embrace and reach for my book. She stirs and wakes.

12:10 a.m. She sits up, points to her room, “allá.” I try to ease her back to sleep in our bed, knowing that she won’t be happy in the solitary darkness of her own room, sans nightlight. She insists. “Allá”

12:15 a.m. I give in, throw my legs over the side of the bed yet again and plod back to her room.

12:16 a.m. I lower her into her crib, friends and all, and just as she reaches the mattress, she looks up, clings to my shoulders, and with persistence, says, “allá, allá,” pointing back towards our room.

12:17 a.m. I try to soothe her by singing… “I love you, a bushel and a peck…a bushel and a peck…”

12:20 a.m. We are back in our room.

12:25 a.m. She won’t settle. Awake now, I have a stroke of genius. I pick her up once more, carry her to room, grab her crib and drag it thru the hallway and place it at the foot of our bed. Her bed, our room. This must work.

12:30 a.m. Once again, I lower her to the mattress and once again, she clings and cries. “Allá,” she says.

12:31 a.m. – 12:49 a.m. – we continue the dance, moving between her room and ours, singing choruses of “allás” until…

12:50 a.m. We wake up Daddy.

12 Responses to “The loudest hour at the quietest time”

  1. Stacey May 8, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    Oh man! The night time waking thing is so hard. And it’s so hard to get little ones to settle back to sleep. I hope you were able to get some sleep. Thanks for linking up!!

    • Sarah May 9, 2012 at 3:11 am #

      Thanks, Stacey! It certainly makes the mornings long 🙂

  2. Stasha May 9, 2012 at 1:23 am #

    Wow, I remember being hot and no AC or fan. I am sorry you and Lucy had a restless night! But I do love your style of writing. Beautiful story telling!

    • Sarah May 9, 2012 at 3:10 am #

      Thanks so much, Stasha! I’m grateful for the writing prompt! It gave me a little writing jump-start after a loooong night 🙂

  3. debbiezzie May 9, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    Oh, I remember those days! My daughter is 16, but when she was about 7, she always wanted to get up and come to my room and tell me “just one more thing”. My husband was on night shift one night and she was incessantly coming to teh room back and forth. The last time, I said, “Do not come back up here unless you are vomiting or bleeding!” (Mother of teh year, right??) Anyway, I heard a soft little knock. I said, “COME IN!” She said…I just wanted to tell you I prayed for you.” I felt 2 inches tall. Needless to say, she slept with me that night! Found you through the Monday Listicles Blog Hop! Come see me if you have a chance!

    joy!
    Vicky @ sleeping in an unmade bed

    • Sarah May 16, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

      Thanks for the laugh, Debbie! I wonder how long we can keep our little one in a crib 😉 I’m heading over to visit your blog now! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  4. debbiezzie May 9, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    I promise I had left you the FUNNIEST comment you will ever read, and this dang WordPress doo-looly deleted it. And i mean it took me 5 or 7 minutes to write it. Wink!

    Well, it is time for my daughter to be home now and I can’t re-write it. So sorry. Anyway, come see my post today..it is about me and my sister trying to get our new baby in our family to sleep…I think you will appreciate it!

    ~joy!
    Vicky @ sleeping in an unmade bed

  5. Jennifer Worrell May 10, 2012 at 2:10 am #

    YUCK! Hot AND sleepless! My heart goes out to you–may your power stay on:)

    • Sarah May 16, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

      Thanks, Jennifer! We’ve had quite a few of those nights lately, but I’m slowly acclimating to the seasonal heat and humidity! The rains have started and that will help tremendously in cooling things off a bit!

  6. Robbie May 10, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    I don’t do well when i’m hot. I would probably be impatient and cranky…hope everyone eventually fell back asleep!

  7. Laura Prather June 15, 2012 at 1:57 am #

    Hi! Been enjoying your blog! Me and my family are moving down to Nicaragua soon…including my 16 month old. We are coming down in August for a brief explore trip…brief because we can only stay for a few days…we are looking at moving to san Juan del sur….any advice more making most of the short trip? We basically want to scope out the area and get an idea for what we are looking at in terms of housing. We were wondering if $450 is realistic fir a two bedroom apartment? Well really any advice…nervous only because ny son is young and we want a secure place. Hope to hear from you! Laura

    • Sarah June 19, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

      Hi Laura,
      Thanks for visiting! How exciting that you are thinking about relocating. I think that it’s very smart to visit before making any decisions. San Juan is a lovely town, but it’s not for everyone. While here, you will probably want to look into housing options, medical car, where to buy various items, etc. If you plan to open a business here, you will want to look into permitting, assess budgets, etc. If you do not plan to work, you might want to explore how else you can spend your time, i.e. volunteer opportunities.

      I think that $450 for a 2 bedroom is pretty low, although there are plenty of hidden gems that I just haven’t found yet. Your budget will depend on the type of housing you require, i.e. basic/rustic vs. air conditioning, pools, etc. If you rent in a development, some of your utilities might be included (internet, cable, water), but you will almost always be on the hook for your electricity bill which can be quite costly.

      To give you an idea, we now live in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment in the hills above town. The place came furnished with beds, desks, living room and patio furniture, as well as a dining room table. We have air conditioning in both bedrooms. Our rent is $700/month and includes internet, cable tv, housekeeping twice per week (including laundering of sheets and towels provided by the development), security, water, and a back-up system for when the power goes out (usually only turned on at night). We pay our electric bills, which have ranged in price from $75-$250/month depending on usage and the cost of energy.

      You might check out http://www.vacationrentalsnicaragua.com for some ideas, but it also helps to simply ask around once you are here. Let me know how else I can be of help to you!
      Sarah

Leave a Reply

