Shit Storm

16 Feb

My parents arrived yesterday for a visit. They haven’t seen Lucy since October. She’s changed so much since then – she’s walking, talking, learning to swim – I just can’t wait for them to have some time with her.

So, today I came into work for the morning with the plan of meeting my folks at our house around noon for lunch. Lucy would be well rested from her usual 10-noon nap and we’d all have a fantastic afternoon together.  But we all know what happens to the best laid-plans…

Justin sent me a cryptic text message earlier this morning: “I don’t think we’ll be eating lunch at home today…”

Hmm. No biggie, I thought. The propane tank is probably empty. We’ll eat in town and refill the tank.

But then I remembered that we just refilled the tank a few weeks ago. It couldn’t be empty already.

Too curious to wait, I called Justin to learn that there is a shit storm in our house. Yes, a literal shit storm.

Sewage has backed up into our showers and the entire house reeks of shit. Worse, it’s probably our own shit. Gross.

In a previous post, I referred to good days as lemonade days. From here on out, we’ll be referring to shitty days as, well…shitty days.

2 Responses to “Shit Storm”

  1. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life February 16, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    Oh this is so not funny, but I’m laughing at your description of it all! I hope HOPE everything gets resolved soon! Good luck!

  2. KTL June 6, 2013 at 6:36 am #

    I love the lack of sugar and the straight up unvarnished-ness of ur blog. Fab!

Leave a Reply

