Gone in a Flash

13 Jan

A while back, I tried to get into the groove of posting a new Lucy photo each Friday.  But the task became overwhelming when I attempted to sift thru more than 10,000 photos each week.  Yes folks, since Lucy’s birth, we (I) have taken over 10,000 photos.

10,672 photos to be exact.  If you consider that Lucy has been with us for 419 days (1 year, 1 month, and 24 days), that means that we (I) averaged almost 25 photos PER DAY.  That’s more than one photo PER HOUR every day or a photo every 56 minutes.  And if you consider that we sleep for 7 (hah!) of those hours, it’s actually 1.5 photos per hour for 17 hours (my math is terrible, so don’t judge me if this is all wrong).

I guess that’s the beauty and the curse of the digital camera.  You can shoot to your heart’s content without paying the hefty price to develop, but it can also consume you, and your loved ones.  We (I) rarely leave the house without the camera because what if, just what if Lucy does something terribly cute and we fail to capture it for the grandparents?  I’m beginning to discover that, as her mom, I think that pretty much everything she does is cute.  Except maybe for yesterday morning when, on the changing table, she reached down and grabbed her poop-filled diaper and rubbed it on her face. Although, admittedly, if I had had the camera next to me, you can be assured there would have been a photo of said event.

I should probably heed my own advice and the subtle warnings from my Mac that it, too, is overloaded by photos.  How much longer can that pinwheel spin before leading me to the blue screen of death?

So In honor of Photo Friday today, I will leave my camera at home.  I will not take one single picture (at least not of Lucy) today.  This commitment is brought to you in part by Eric and Stephanie who borrowed our camera last night, making it that much easier for me to not take photos.

But also, because it’s Friday the 13th and I don’t want to tempt fate with the computer gods any longer, I will be transferring all of my current photos to a backup drive and deleting them from the laptop.  Seems easy enough, right?  Except that when the transfer is complete, you still have to drag your photos to the TRASH CASH and then chose to “EMPTY TRASH.”  And just in case you aren’t 100% certain of your decision, Mac gives you one last opportunity to change your mind…”are you sure you want to delete the 10,000 photos permanently?”  And then, in even smaller print, one final hail mary to get you to reconsider, “you cannot undo this action.”

Well, no, no, I’m not sure that I want to press that “OK” button and delete the first 36,201,600 seconds of my daughter’s life.  But, it has to be done.  It has to be done for the sake of my computer’s health and perhaps my own and Lucy’s.  And the truth is, I’m not actually deleting anything at all because it’s all stored right up here, in my memory (and on Justin’s computer, Picasa, and my back-up drive), but, whatever, you get the point.

disclaimer: this photo was NOT taken today

4 Responses to “Gone in a Flash”

  1. Carl Crosley January 13, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    delectable children always trump digital details

  2. Blue January 13, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Wow! that’s a lot of photos. and big mathematical exercise. quantity can’t beat quality but you have to take quantity to master quality. glad to hear you have multiple back ups……. they will always be treasured. even if when she’s 25 years old and finds the back up drive and has to figure a way to access the old technology of all the photos and her mom’s amazing ‘blog’ (what they used to call it back in the early 2000’s🙂 keep shooting my friend!
    xoxo

    • Sarah January 13, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      Thanks for the ongoing support, Blue! Glad I have a good photography teacher to help me along the way🙂

  3. Chase McFadden January 14, 2012 at 3:47 am #

    That pic with the reflection in the lenses is awesome. And darling child, of course.

    It’s scary as hell to hit delete even when you know you have (multiple) backup.

Leave a Reply

