Reflections on my first year of motherhood

12 Nov

As I turn another year older and Lucy approaches the celebration of her first birthday, it seems a fitting time to reflect on all that I have learned and all that Lucy has taught me in my first year of motherhood.  Here goes:

~Parenting is hard.  See next comment.

~Every time you think you have parenting figured out, the game changes.

~Parenting is also amazing, mind-blowing, and insanely rewarding.  See next comment.

~There is absolutely nothing more beautiful in this world than when your baby grabs your finger for the first time… until she smiles at you for the first time, then laughs, rolls over, crawls, stands, walks, speaks…all for the first time.

~Document.  Record milestones.  Write your baby letters.  Take photos.   But also know when to put the camera down and simply be present.

~During your labor and delivery, fight for what you want/need, within what is medically reasonable. Use a doula.

~Pacifier is not a bad word, nor your enemy.  Be grateful if your child takes to one.

~Don’t compare your baby to others.  Children develop at different rates.

~Your child will fall, bump her head, and scrape her knees.  She will have colds and fevers and rashes and diarrhea, and vomit.  And she will survive them all.  So will you.

~It’s okay to let your child become attached to a caregiver other than yourself.  In fact, it’s a really good thing, both for you and for her.

~Breastfeeding, while natural, is hard.  Be patient with yourself and with your baby.

~Learn to embrace the late night feedings and appreciate them for the peaceful quiet that they bring.  They won’t last forever.

~Dirty dishes and laundry can wait.

~Everyone says this because it’s true…sleep when your baby sleeps.

~Listen to all the advice you can get from family, friends, professionals, caregivers, books and then ignore half of it.  Be an informed parent and then decide for yourself what works best for you, your partner, and your baby.

~Let people help you.  See next two comments.

~Savor family.  Give your baby endless time with grandparents.

~Join a mom group or reach out to other parents with children.  They will become your lifeline, your family, and more.  And it’s a great way for your baby to learn to socialize.

~Stay in contact with your friends.  They were your friends pre-baby and will be there for you present-baby, but you have to make the effort.

~Let your child explore.  Let her run her hands thru the sand, pick up leaves, touch rocks, dangle her feet in the ocean.  The outdoors is a great classroom.

~Read to your baby everyday.  Sing, too.

~Love your partner.  Make time for your partner, even when you are exhausted, especially when you are exhausted.

~Call your mom and tell her you love her.  Especially on your birthday.

8 Responses to “Reflections on my first year of motherhood”

  1. Blue November 12, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    you are a beautiful woman, friend, mother, sister and more. i am very much enjoying sharing in your this leg of your life journey. with hugs, blue

    • Sarah November 13, 2011 at 1:15 am #

      Thank you, Blue! And thank you for helping me document the journey and giving me the tools to do it myself, too :) xoxo

  2. Elena November 12, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    So true, all of it! Thanks for sharing your mama wisdom and thanks for sharing the beginning of our mama journeys with me…I could have never had a better support system. Lucy is a lucky girl!

    • Sarah November 13, 2011 at 1:15 am #

      Well I had some pretty good mentors in my mama group! :) xoxo

  3. Kim Meninger November 12, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    I love this, Sarah! One thing I learned is to let Christian get messy. I have a really hard time getting my hands dirty, but I don’t want to deprive Christian of the fun. : )

    • Sarah November 13, 2011 at 1:14 am #

      Thanks, Kim! You are so right – I am slowly learning to let go of the control and just let Lucy mash the potatoes into her face and stain those pretty baby clothes. I mean, what’s more important – a onesie or all that fun?! Love you and miss you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gone in a Flash « Mom's the Word - January 26, 2012

    [...] should probably heed my own advice and the subtle warnings from my Mac that it, too, is overloaded by photos.  How much longer can [...]

  2. Happy Anniversary « Mom's the Word - January 31, 2012

    [...] kind of days.   I learned to let go.  I learned to slow down.  I became a wife.  I became a mother.  I embraced my plus-size body, on the beach, no less.  I learned Spanish.   I learned to swear [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

